December 29, 2013

As you can see, it is very hard to think positive in here and this place has a way of breaking your spirits. My family and girlfriend will be the first to tell you that my attitude during phone calls shifts more than a politicians in just 15 minutes. While I’ve accepted my crime, my sentence, and that I deserve to be here, it’s still very difficult to grasp exactly what being incarcerated for 6 1/2 years means, and it quickly overwhelms me. I know this is a quote from someone famous but my friend Alex Sheen (founder of Because I said I Would) told me something along the lines of “The time test is holding to your convictions. even when the mood you had when you made them is long gone.” I may have gotten that quote wrong, but the meaning of it is so damn true and sometimes it really takes gritting it out to hold true to yourself. As a society, we only hold on to things or believe in things while they are convenient and far to often only think of ourselves. -Matthew Cordle

4 thoughts on “December 29, 2013

  1. Matt… I’ve been responding on ambulances for 16 years and have worked to save many impaired drivers and victims alike… I normally do not have much to say to the drivers who cause these crashes but you are different. Thank you for all you are doing to spread awareness! I will keep you in my prayers! I wish more people took responsibility and people would learn from the mistakes of others… Very few of the hundreds of people, people who are our friends and family and make a horrible choice one night, have the strength to speak out like you do…for being strong and working to make a change this paramedic is extremely thankful for you… It does not change the time you will spend yet I hope that you and your family find strength and comfort… Time can be a punishment or a gift… I hope somehow this time you are required to pay has some silver lining… Riding ambulances I see horrible things as well as beautiful but every trip I find a positive so I can respond to that next call… Have no idea if you can but try to find a simple positive thing in each day. Thank you!

    • Hi Kate, I am Matthews mother and your messages is so touching. I am going to print it and mail it to Matthew. I know your message will give him strength and so much encouragement to continue his journey as it has given me strength – thank you for all your hard work in your job – I apprecite you! May god keep you safe!
      Always
      Kari

      • Kari,

        Stay strong and thank you for all your family is doing. The more people we convince to save their victims the fewer calls myself and my peers will have to run and the safer it will be for all of us. I know when I work a crash I always worry my crew will be struck my an impaired or distracted driver. I know multiple police officers who have been struck by impaired drivers. I agree that knowledge is power and I’m convinced your son’s story and actions will help prevent others! I hope God shares some of these saves with you all!

        Find the positive for even the most horrible situations often have that grain of sand a little positive that reminds us to hope and have faith.

        Kate

  2. Happiness doesn’t result from what we get, but from what we give.
    I am convinced that knowledge is power – to overcome the past, to change our own situations, to fight new obstacles, to make better decisions.

Leave a Reply

